Antti Vasara

VTT President and CEO
EARTO President

Prof. Antti Vasara is the President & CEO of VTT Ltd (Technical Research Center of Finland) since November 1, 2015. Antti is a technology industry executive with close to 20 years of P&L and general management experience from international companies as well as a board of director experience from several public and private companies in Finland, Canada and the UK.

He is a non-executive director and member of the board of Comptel Oyj in Finland and Nexeon Ltd in the UK. Previously, he has been serving several years as a board member of F-Secure Oyj in Finland and 724 Solutions in Canada, as well as a supervisory board member of Symbian Plc in the UK. He also was Chairman of the Research and Technology Committee of the Confederation of Finnish Industries (EK) as well as a Member of the Board of Directors of the Finnish Funding Agency for Technology and Innovation (Tekes).

Prior to joining VTT, he was EVP of R&D services business area at Tieto Corporation. He worked for 9 years at Nokia in various P&L and product responsible roles leading business units, R&D units, sales & marketing units as well as Nokia’s corporate strategy. Before Nokia, he was the CEO of SmartTrust Ltd, a leading provider of service management software to mobile operators. Before joining SmartTrust in 2000, Prof. Vasara worked as Senior Engagement Manager at McKinsey & Company in Finland consulting mainly in the fields of telecommunications, electronics and pharmaceutical & biotechnology with projects in Nordic countries, Central Europe, UK, USA and Asia-Pacific. Earlier in his career, Prof. Vasara was a researcher in the field of optical communications at the Helsinki University of Technology in Finland and holds one international patent.

Prof. Vasara holds a Doctor of Technology (Technical Physics) degree from Helsinki University of Technology in Finland.




Risto Siilasmaa

Chairman of Nokia Corporation
Chairman and Founder of F-Secure Corporation

Risto Siilasmaa is the Chairman of the Board of Directors of Nokia Corporation. He joined the Nokia Board in 2008 and became Chairman of the Board in May 2012. As Chairman he led Nokia through its transformation from an ailing devices company to a successful network infrastructure player through the divestiture of the Nokia device business to Microsoft and the acquisition of Nokia Siemens Networks and the acquisition of Alcatel-Lucent.

Mr Siilasmaa is the founder of F-Secure Corporation, a Finnish cybersecurity company and served as the President and CEO of the company between 1988-2006. Since then he has held the position of Chairman of the Board of Directors. Mr Siilasmaa is a member of the Board of Directors of Futurice Corporation. He is a Board member of the Technology Industries of Finland and a member of the European Round Table ERT. He is also a member of Tsinghua SEM Advisory Board, International Business Leaders Advisory Council for the Mayor of Beijing and High-level Advisory Council of the World Internet Conference (Wuzhen Summit). In addition Mr Siilasmaa is the Finnish Chairman of the China-Finland Committee for Innovative Business Cooperation.

Mr. Siilasmaa has received several awards including Nordic Chairman of the year 2009, the Most Influential IT Leader 2007, The Leader of the Decade 2003 and Innovation Luminary Award 2015 granted by EU Open Innovation Strategy and Policy Group.

Mr. Siilasmaa holds a Master of Science degree from the Helsinki University of Technology and he was awarded Honorary Doctorate in Technology by Aalto University schools of technology in 2018.